The Discover Pass is your ticket to Washington State’s glorious outdoors.
Did you know that the Discover Pass was created in 2011 offset steep reductions in general tax support for parks and other recreation lands and facilities operated by Washington State Parks, the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife, and the Washington State Department of Natural Resources? When you purchase a Discover Pass, you help keep Washington’s parks open and accessible!
Did you know about Check Out Washington? It’s a program that allows folks to check out a special Discover Pass at their local library. Library card holders can reserve a limited-edition Discover Pass for a week at a time and can experience day visits at Washington State Parks or lands owned by Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife and Department of Natural Resources free of charge.
The pass gives you access millions of acres of state recreation lands including:
- More than 100 developed state parks
- More than 350 primitive recreation sites, including campgrounds and picnic areas
- Nearly 700 water-access points
- Nearly 2,000 miles of designated water and land recreation trails
- More than 80 natural areas
- More than 30 wildlife areas
THE DISCOVER PASS IS A MOTOR VEHICLE PERMIT ONLY
Did you know that you don’t need the pass to access state recreation lands by boat or by non-motorized means (foot, horse, bicycle, etc.)? Motor vehicles used to transport recreation equipment (like vehicles pulling horse or boat trailers) must display the pass. The trailers being towed that are carrying the equipment don’t need a Discover Pass. Boaters still need to pay for services like moorage and waste-pumping. Just driving through state recreation lands managed by DNR and WDFW and won’t be leaving the vehicle? No pass required.
SOME USEFUL DETAILS ABOUT THE PASS
- One pass can be shared between two vehicles. It must be displayed visibly when in use.
- The annual pass is $30 and is good for one year from the date of purchase.
- A day pass costs $10 and is good for the day marked on the pass.
- Consult the website for nuances of use with motorcycles.
- There is a fine for not having a pass (it’s $99) which may be reduced to $59 if you provide proof of purchase to the court within 15 days of the violation.
Read about Washington Recreational Lands including Washington State Department of Natural Resources, Washington State Parks, and Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife.
Yup, there are exceptions and exemptions to all this information, read about them here.
Purchase your annual or day Discover Pass here and get your adventure on!
AND THERE ARE FREE DAYS WHEN YA DON’T NEED A PASS
Below are the 2022 Free Days:
- Jan. 1 — New Year’s Day
- Jan. 17 — Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
- March 9 — Billy Frank Junior’s Birthday
- March 19 — State Parks’ 108th Birthday
- April 22 — Earth Day
- June 11 — National Get Outdoors Day
- June 12 — Free Fishing Day
- June 19 — Juneteenth
- Sept. 24 — National Public Lands Day
- Oct. 10 — World Mental Health Day
- Nov. 11 — Veterans Day
- Nov. 25 — Native American Heritage Day
You must be logged in to post a comment.